Crack the Shell of Reality!


The past three weeks have been largely a waste of time for me. I’ve had a bout of depression and let myself get caught up into a cycle of passive stagnancy. This kind of thing is very annoying to me, but I know that I’m going to just have to get through this, fix the way I feel, and start being productive again. Just grit my teeth and start doing stuff even if I don’t feel like it.

Friends I know say that I can’t understand their problems, that I’ve never had clinical depression so I couldn’t possibly empathize with their condition. What they don’t realize is that I’m just as depressed as they are, but when I’m depressed I don’t victimize myself, say “It’s because I have mental illness(s), I can’t help the way I am” So am I unable to empathize just because I choose to be more proactive in dealing with my problems?

In the end, I hope people will realize that we all really have the same problems, the same yearnings, and the same suffering, albeit some disproportionately more than others. We all want freedom, happiness, equality for all, we all want to make the world a better place, we all want to end suffering and enjoy life to the fullest. It’s just a matter of how we interpret the issues and how to deal with them, and how proactive we are in doing something about it.

The world we live in isn’t perfect, and we should expect it to be. No one is problem-free or lacking in personal issues, we’re all mentally ill or abnormal in some way. The world is so beautiful precisely because it’s so imperfect, and living a meaningful life isn’t about improving the world, it’s about learning to appreciate the beauty and energy of the world that already is! Embrace it all freely, and love the world and those who are in it unconditionally, and you will truly find an amazingly meaningful reality, and the mind-blowing ecstasy that comes with such a reality.

So wake up, see the beautiful world in full color, and appreciate. It’s all there, all the ideals you’ve been searching for all this time, everything is there in front of you, and you only need but realize it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

